Starting to have accountability

July 27, 2010

I find that I can let myself be lazy if I’m not too careful.  I don’t like being lazy, but I often let it happen.  This blog is an effort to squash my laziness, and provide accountability for my actions.  The lofty goal is to update the blog each morning with at least one solid thing that I hope to accomplish before the end of the day.  The next morning I will assess my success, write about it, and lay out a new task for the new day.

Today has already been productive, but I don’t want to be content with what I’ve already done; this blog is about what I am going to do, not what I’ve already completed.

My hope for today was to start running.  This morning I ran a bit over 3 miles, and it felt great.  I’ve already started this blog as well, which is also great.  By the end of the day I hope to remove some weeds from the garden, and chop down some of the spent flowers.  It doesn’t seem like much, but it is something that needs to be done and I’ve put it off for a few days.  So there it is.  I’ve written it down and now I must be accountable for it.

Perhaps tomorrow I will post a picture of the progress that I WILL MAKE today.

What little thing can you do today to make yourself feel proud and accomplished?  It doesn’t have to be much, but you can do it!

– Post updated to include before/after photos.

2 Responses to “Starting to have accountability”

  1. Kat Says:

    Great idea! Leela will be so happy that you plan on deadheading the spent blooms!


  2. […] to say that I was again successful with yesterday’s plans. I have posted the before/after photos from Tuesday, I made myself some quinoa with steamed vegetables, and I did a little bit of […]


Leave a Reply

