Great first day…

July 28, 2010

Yesterday was the first day of my accountability project, and I’m already happy with my progress. At the beginning of the day I set out to start running, to start this blog, and to do some maintenance in the garden. I’m happy to say that all of the above was completed.

As the day wore on, I was concerned that I might not be able to do the garden maintenance that I planned for. I ended up working a couple hours later than expected, and when I was done I didn’t feel like working in the garden. Since I posted publicly that I would perform the task, I felt obligated. I went outside and spent about an hour in the garden. I was able to chop down all of the spent flowers from the hostas and the daylilies. I also pulled a large section of weeds and grasses. By the time I was done I had been eaten alive by mosquitoes, but I felt proud for accomplishing the tasks that I set out to do.

Today is a difficult day to get much done. I’m currently a couple hours away from the house, training for work at one of our main offices. The class is slated to end somewhere around 5, but we’ve been warned that it will take as long as it takes. That is fine with me, as I’m eager to learn. The way I see it, the more I learn about my job, the easier the job is and the better I can perform. I would rather spend a few hours learning the proper way to do something than spend several hours trying to figure out what I did wrong.

Right now we’re on lunch break, and I quickly ate my tomato, basil, mozzarella sandwich with potato leek soup. The food was actually pretty good for cafeteria food, but I much prefer to prepare my own meals. Tomorrow I will plan ahead and bring something from home. It is always good to be prepared.

Like I said, it will be difficult to get much other than work and travel done today, but I must continue to make progress. When I get home tonight I will upload the before/after pictures of the work that I did yesterday. I will also prepare myself a good meal to bring with me to training tomorrow. Since no day is complete without a bit of exercise, I will also do a couple sets of pull-ups and push-ups.

Again, I’ve said it and now I am accountable for it. Tomorrow I will continue to post my progress as I check items off of my list.

Leave a Reply

