Keeping it going

July 29, 2010

As soon as I begin my accountability project, zen habits posts an article about how, “the best goal is no goal”. I understand the concept of living without goals, without expectations. The problem is that this is not something that everyone is in a position to practice. Many people are struggling to survive, and if they abandon their goals they would fail to survive.

Operating without goals is something for the learned person with the means to survive without a struggle. You cannot simply live without goals unless you have already accomplished a great deal.

Perhaps one day I will be able to live without goals, but for now I’ll continue to press on with this project and document my tiny to do lists.

I’m thankful to say that I was again successful with yesterday’s plans. I have posted the before/after photos from Tuesday, I made myself some quinoa with steamed vegetables, and I did a little bit of exercise.

Today has already been a long day. Again I made the 2 hour drive (each way) to the office for training. It was a long day, but I definitely learned a lot. I still have to create a to do list and cross it off, so here goes…

There is a pile of wood in my back yard that has been there for about a month now. The pile was significantly larger, as a neighbor’s tree fell on our shed. The tree has since been removed, as well as most of the limbs, leaves, and sticks. There is just one pile left, and I don’t like the eyesore that it creates. There is also a pile of chairs that we will never use and a wooden pallet that serves no purpose in the yard.

Tonight I will move the last remaining pile of wood. I will also move the chairs and the pallet to the trash.

-Post edited to include before/after photos.  As you can see, the wood pile, the plastic chairs, and the pallet have been cleared.

Leave a Reply

