Pushing through

August 4, 2010

I successfully ate pie and read from my book last night. It was nice to have a night with light obligations, and it was easy to let myself coast since I had such a busy day. I had a great night of sleep last night, and woke up ready to embrace the day.

This morning I took the dogs over to the park to get some exercise. I walked about a mile and they ran about 3 miles. We met some nice people and dogs, and everyone got some good exercise.

After returning from the park I started to wonder if the walk would feel like sufficient exercise for me. I’ve been maintaining my 3 mile run, and it occurred to me that I might still be able to run today. As soon as I considered it I knew I had to commit to it. The dogs were very tired, so I made sure they had some cool water and I headed out for my run.

At the beginning of the run I felt great. The walk was a good warm-up, but it was starting to really warm up temperature-wise. It was only in the low 80s, but the air was thick. I made it about a mile in before I started to feel fatigue, and it hit me hard. Going up hills was painful, and I just wanted to stop and take a breather. I didn’t let myself stop. I pressed further and accepted that if I wanted to increase my endurance I had to push back against fatigue.

Alas, I was able to finish without stopping to walk, and my time wasn’t all that bad either. I was able to finish in about 28 minutes, where my previous 2 runs were closer to 26 minutes. Not nearly as bad as I had imagined as I was slowly dragging myself up the hills. In the heat of the moment it is easy to perceive something as being worse than it actually is. A calm, cool mind is much better at putting things in perspective. Just being conscious of this can make the heat of the moment feel a little cooler.

That reminds me of a concept that I was reading about. Schopenhauer points out that happiness is determined less by the situations that confront mankind than it is by the manner in which he confronts them. All experiences are entirely subjective.

Pride carries me forward with this project, and I’m grateful for the support that my friends and family have shown. Yesterday I didn’t commit to much, but tonight I plan to sweep the patio and clean the living room. A minimalist mind does not appreciate clutter, so I am going to purge some unnecessary items from my view.

Make it a good day!

2 Responses to “Pushing through”

  1. Lorraine Says:

    David, I’ve been following your blog and enjoy your writing, and am very impressed by your achievements to date. It is tough to sit in a chair all day and then be motivated to exercise and do what’s necessary to keep your life in order. So keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

