Funk

August 6, 2010

Today I am in a complete funk. By this I mean that I am in a rotten mood, and I don’t feel like doing anything. I didn’t post an update yesterday, and I’m sure that has something to do with my foul mood. On Wednesday I vowed to sweep the patio and clean the living room. Sweeping the patio was done, for the most part, by Wednesday night. The finishing touches on the patio and the clean-up of the living room had to stretch into Thursday, as the project was more than I could complete on my own in one day.

I made up for the work that I didn’t complete on Wednesday by kicking some serious living room butt. I eliminated a lot of useless clutter, and the whole space looks so much more refreshing and functional. With so much less eye clutter it actually feels easier to breathe. It also helps that much of my efforts worked toward clearing the vents. Previously the two registers in the room were mostly being covered by the couch and an end table. Now both of them flow freely, and I’m sure the AC is working much more efficiently now.

For dinner last night we made another variation of the corn soup. It ended up being pretty starchy, but delicious. Here is the recipe, but basically we tossed a couple of baked potatoes on the grill, then we made some plain corn soup, sauteed some garlic, mushrooms, broccoli, and spinach, and when the potatoes were done I split mine open and poured the soup and vegetables on top. We had some sage flavored cheddar cheese from our trip to Vermont, so we each added a few shreds on top of our meal. This was incredibly good, and I’m happy that I kept leftovers for lunch today.

It is finally Friday, and Heather and I have late night dinner plans with our good friends JD and Brian. We plan to go to Bangkok City for some delicious Thai food. Mmmmmm!

Since the dinner plans aren’t until much later tonight, I should be able to accomplish a few things before we head out. I’ve already taken the dogs hiking at the park today, so they have had plenty of exercise. I’ve been going a little nuts with the exercise, so I’m giving myself a relatively restful day. As I mentioned, I already went for a hike with the dogs, so I’m not being that lazy.

I have 3 stacks of papers from an old job, each about a foot tall. Much of it is documentation and manuals that still apply to my current job. I will separate and organize the relevant material, then recycle the stuff I’ll never use. This will clear my office a bit, and will continue my efforts toward a clutter-free environment.

Accomplishing things and reflecting on that which I’ve already accomplished will help me get out of this funk, I hope.

5 Responses to “Funk”

  1. Heather Says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a good plan for the day. Thanks for taking the dogs! I hope that you feel better. You’ve been making such incredible progress. You should be very proud of all that you have already accomplished. Keep up the great work!

  2. Kat Says:

    The soup sounds delish!

  3. Diane Says:

    Embrace the funk! Acknowledge your feeling and don’t judge it. Let it be. PS: the recipe sounds delish!

    • orbspiders Says:

      Thanks Di – mostly the funk has gone away. Who would have thought that a day of work would take the funk away? The potatoes and veggies were great, even as leftovers.


Leave a Reply

